• Home
  • Host Family Application for 28th Japan-America Grassroots Summit

Host Family Application for 28th Japan-America Grassroots Summit

  • Thursday, September 20, 2018
  • Sunday, September 23, 2018

Registration

  • Key Person: Ben Erickson
    Seattle-Kobe Sister City Association
    president@seattlekobe.org
    206-617-2594
  • Key Person: Gregg Schrader
    City of Bellevue Development Services Dept
    gschrader@bellevuewa.gov
    425-452-6451
  • Key Person: Lorraine Chachere
    City of Auburn
    lchachere@auburnwa.gov
    253-876-1978
  • Key Person: Commissioner Paul Jewell
    Kittitas County Board of Commissioners
    Please contact Julie Kjorsvik!
    julie.kjorsvik@co.kittitas.wa.us
    509-962-7508
  • Key Person: Becky Newton
    City of Lakewood
    Bnewton@cityoflakewood.us
    253-983-7738
  • Key Person: Deb Langshaw
    Langshaw Investments
    deb.langshaw@gmail.com
    509-989-1307
  • Key Person: Allen Miller
    Olympia Kato Sister Cities Association
    Law Offices of Allen T. Miller
    allen@atmlawoffice.com
    360-754-9156
  • Key Person: City Manager David Timmons
    City of Port Townsend
    dtimmons@cityofpt.us
    360-379-5043
  • Key Person: Mayor John Marchione
    City of Redmond
    mayor@redmond.gov
    425-556-2102
  • Key Person #1: Chris Johnson
    Renton Nishiwaki Sister Cities Committee
    chris5255@gmail.com
    425-381-7069
    Key Person #2: Roger Richert
    Renton Nishiwaki Sister Cities Committee
  • Key Person: City Manager Charlie Bush
    City of Sequim
    cbush@sequimwa.gov
    360-681-3440
  • Key Person: Debbie Bingham
    City of Tacoma
    debbie.bingham@cityoftacoma.org
    253-591-5117
  • Key Person #1: Rita Brogan
    PRR
    rbrogan@prrbiz.com
    Key Person #2: Akiko Leonard
    lhakiko@gmail.com

Become a Host Family for the 28th Japan-America Grassroots Summit in Washington State

September 20-23, 2018


What is the Grassroots Summit?

The Japan America Grassroots Summit is an annual large-scale exchange of Japanese and American people, held alternatively in Japan and America. The Summit aims to strengthen the peaceful relationship between our two countries by fostering friendship at the grassroots level.

See the event brochure for more information.


Local Sessions:

After opening the Summit in Seattle, participants leave for their home stay town and stay with their host family for four days and three nights.  During the home stay days, the local town leaders and host families work together to share the best that their community has to offer. Check out the Local Session and Host Family Handbook v.3 for more detailed information on local sessions and tips for hosting.

Local Sessions need host families to help make the Summit a success!

Please check where your nearest local session is and register to be a host family there! You may also fill out a physical application here and send it to grassroots2018@jassw.org or (206) 374-0175 (fax).

Closing Ceremony:

Sunday, September 23, 2018
4:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Hyatt Regency Lake Washington, Renton

Two individuals from every host family will be given complimentary tickets to the Grassroots Summit Closing Ceremony at newly opened Hyatt Regency Lake Washington in Renton, WA on Sunday, September 23, 2018.

Additional family members are welcome to attend. Tickets will be available for purchase at http://jassw.org at a later date.

Sponsors:



Follow the Grassroots Summit on Facebook!

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software